daylight savings time ends

If you’re wondering what time daylight saving time ends and when to fall your clocks back, we have your answer

Millions of Americans will turn their clocks back this weekend, gaining an extra hour of sleep as daylight saving time comes to a close. Daylight saving time for 2024 will start in March, when we’ll set our clocks forward, sacrificing an hour of sleep in the process.


The switch between standard and daylight saving time significantly impacts the daily routines of hundreds of millions of Americans. It leads to clock adjustments, a temporary disruption of sleep patterns, and earlier sunsets. Recent years have seen growing dissatisfaction with this time change, but attempts to abolish daylight saving time through legislation in Congress have faced hurdles.

What is daylight saving time?

Daylight saving time is the practice of adjusting our clocks by one hour between March and November. In November, we gain an hour of sleep (unlike in spring when we lose an hour) to make better use of daylight in the mornings. When we “spring forward” in March, it’s to extend daylight into the evenings, particularly during the summer. The autumnal equinox, marking the start of fall in the Northern Hemisphere, occurred on September 23.


When does daylight saving time end in 2023?

Daylight saving time for 2023 concludes on Sunday, November 5, at 2 a.m. local time, as our clocks move back by one hour. This biannual time change affects most Americans but not all.

When does daylight saving time begin in 2024?

In 2024, daylight saving time will commence at 2 a.m. local time on Sunday, March 10, and conclude for the year at 2 a.m. on Sunday, November 3.

Is daylight saving time ending permanently?

Efforts to cease the practice of changing clocks gained momentum in recent years. The U.S. Senate passed the Sunshine Protection Act in 2022, which aimed to make daylight saving time permanent. However, this bill did not pass in the U.S. House of Representatives and was not signed into law by President Joe Biden. A 2023 version of the act remains inactive in Congress.


Does every state observe daylight saving time?

Not all states and U.S. territories participate in daylight saving time. Hawaii and Arizona (except the Navajo Nation) do not observe daylight saving time. The same applies to American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Arizona’s decision is rooted in its desert climate, which doesn’t necessitate adjusting clocks for later sunsets during the hottest months. The Navajo Nation, spanning Arizona, Utah, and New Mexico, does observe daylight saving time. Hawaii, due to its proximity to the equator, experiences relatively consistent daylight hours throughout the year.

In conclusion, daylight saving time has a significant impact on the lives of Americans, but its future remains uncertain with ongoing debates and legislative efforts. Not all states and territories in the U.S. observe this practice, with some choosing to remain on standard time year-round.